SEC/Big 12 Challenge to become a one-day basketball event

There’s no guarantee it will be a perfect 10.

However, the Southeastern Conference and Big 12 have decided that it is better to play all 10 games of the SEC/Big 12 Challenge on the same day, not to mention later in the season.

The conferences announced Thursday that the 2016 SEC/Big 12 Challenge will take place Jan. 30, 2016, the first time all 10 games won’t be spread out over several days and the first time it will take place in the middle of the conference season. ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will broadcast the entire lineup.

“Moving the Big 12/SEC Challenge later in the season will raise the profile of this event and give our coaches, student-athletes and fans the attention that it deserves,” SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said in a release.

This season’s cross-conference matchups were played from Dec. 3-6. Vanderbilt lost 66-63 at home to Baylor and Tennessee defeated Kansas State 65-64. The Big 12 won six of the 10 games, the second year it came out on top in the series.

The conferences agreed to create a single date in January or February for future seasons.

The concentration of games will add to the event for two conferences better known for their football. The full promotional support of ESPN on multiple platforms can only help as well.

Jan 29, 2015 1:42 PM

ESPN announces broadcast plans for SEC/Big 12 Challenge

Tip-off times and broadcast plans for the 2014 SEC/Big 12 were announced Tuesday – and it is clear that Vanderbilt is not considered a star attraction.

The Commodores’ game against Baylor on Dec. 4 will tip at 6 p.m. (CST) and will air on ESPNU. At the same time LSU and West Virginia will play on ESPN. Two other games follow that night.

2014 SEC/Big 12 Challenge Presented by Sonic

Wednesday, December 3
Auburn at Texas Tech – SEC Network / ESPN3 (8 p.m.)
Thursday, December 4
LSU at West Virginia – ESPN2 (6 p.m.)
Baylor at Vanderbilt – ESPNU (6 p.m.)
Arkansas at Iowa State – ESPN2 (8 p.m.)
TCU at Ole Miss – ESPNU (8 p.m.)
Friday, December 5
Texas at Kentucky – ESPN (6 p.m.)
Florida at Kansas – ESPN (8 p.m.)
Missouri at Oklahoma – ESPNU (8:30 p.m.)
Saturday, December 6
Oklahoma State at South Carolina – ESPNU (11 a.m.)
Kansas State at Tennessee – ESPN2 (2:15 p.m.)

(all times CST)


Aug 12, 2014 2:31 PM